Introduction

+

Pikes & Verekers Lawyers has long been regarded as a pre-eminent firm in the area of local government law. We act for over 20 local councils in New South Wales and advise on the full spectrum of legal issues facing modern councils regardless of their location. We are proud to have had a long association with both metropolitan and country councils. 

Councils look to Pikes & Verekers Lawyers to advise on property issues including leasing, acquisition and sale of property, and governance matters including code of conduct, liability and immunities. We regularly provide advice on land use matters including enforcement and prosecutions.

Pikes & Verekers Lawyers is known for its expertise in advising local government on planning and environmental law including litigation in all classes in the Land and Environment Court and in the Supreme Court and Court of Appeal. 

Our team, including Stephen Griffiths, Julie Walsh, Peter Jackson, Roslyn McCulloch, Gary Green and Michael Hewett, has more combined years of legal experience in advising local government than any other firm in New South Wales. 

Experience

+

Pecuniary Interest Advice 

    • Acted for a councillor prosecuted for breaching the pecuniary interest provisions of the Local Government Act 1993.

Advice regarding Powers of Delegation 

    • Providing extensive advice concerning council’s powers of delegation under the Local Government Act 1993.

Advice regarding Prosecution Procedures 

    • Preparation of a procedures manual for a council in relation to its prosecution procedures.

Drafting Notices 

    • Advised and drafted notices for a council when the council’s waste collection contractor withdrew all of its vehicles from waste collection operation in the council’s area.

Advice 

    • Provision of extensive advice to Broken Hill City Council on a wide variety of matters including mining operations, health and safety issues relating to takeaway food premises, roads authority powers and obligations, building certification and council liability and obligations in respect of negligent employees.

Advice regarding Preparation of LEPs 

    • Detailed advice and input into the preparation of Local Environmental Plans, including planning proposals and Development Control Plans. 

Advice regarding Community Land

    • Acting for a council in a case relating to the community land provisions of the Local Government Act 1993: Ryde City Council ats Friends of Pryor Park (1996) 91 LGERA.

Acting in Judicial Review Proceedings 

    • Acting for owner of a large-scale seniors living development at Glenhaven in The Hills Shire Council area in judicial review proceedings and advising on development applications and planning proposals.

Contacts

+

Stephen Griffiths

Special Counsel
sgriffiths@pvlaw.com.au

Details

Julie Walsh

Partner
jwalsh@pvlaw.com.au

Details

Peter Jackson

Partner
pjackson@pvlaw.com.au

Details

Roslyn McCulloch

Partner
rmcculloch@pvlaw.com.au

Details

Gary Green

Partner
ggreen@pvlaw.com.au

Details

Ryan Bennett

Partner
rbennett@pvlaw.com.au

Details

Joshua Palmer

Senior Associate
jpalmer@pvlaw.com.au

Details

Rebecca Darr

Senior Associate
rdarr@pvlaw.com.au

Details

James Fan

Associate
jfan@pvlaw.com.au

Details

David Baxter

Partner
dbaxter@pvlaw.com.au

Details

Kim Probert

Partner
kprobert@pvlaw.com.au

Details

Alistair Knox

Lawyer
aknox@pvlaw.com.au

Details

Tom Bush

Lawyer
tbush@pvlaw.com.au

Details

Expertise

+
  • Codes of conduct 
  • Rates and charges 
  • Contracting 
  • Tendering
  • Land identification and acquisition
  • Development agreements 
  • Service agreements 
  • Rezoning issues 
  • Strategic planning advice 
  • Voluntary planning agreements 
  • Release of government information 
  • Property joint ventures 
  • Remediation and contamination 
  • Environmental prosecutions 
  • Certification of development 
  • Complying development 
  • Existing use rights